Thu. Jul 18th, 2024

Patterson Files to Keep Clerk’s Job; Iola council members seek county seat

By Vaseline May30,2024

Allen County Clerk Shannon Patterson has filed for election, and the race for County Commissioner No. 3 is heating up with just days remaining before the filing deadline.

This is Patterson’s first time running for office, though she has had the job for nearly two years and has overseen multiple elections during her tenure.

Patterson took over the office in October 2022 when longtime clerk Sherrie Riebel retired. She has worked in the clerk’s office since 2010 and trained with Riebel, who worked with Patterson for about two years to ensure she received the training and certification she needed for a seamless transition.

The local Republican Party nominated Patterson to fill the role until Riebel’s term ends in January 2025.

The county clerk is responsible for many local government functions, including serving as a clerk for county commissioners. The clerk is also responsible for the county’s budget and financial administration, and assists smaller taxing agencies in preparing their annual budgets.

County clerks also serve as county election officials in 101 of Kansas’s 105 counties. They maintain voter registration, train poll workers and are responsible for all aspects of organizing elections. Clerks have many other duties dictated by Kansas statute.

TWO IOLA councilors – one former and one current – ​​are in the race for District No. 3 County Commission.

Nickolas Kinder, who represented Iola’s First Ward from 2020 until his term ended in January, filed for the committee seat as a Republican. He works at Verizon in Ottawa.

That means a primary election for the seat will take place on August 6, as former Commissioner John Brocker also filed as a Republican. Incumbent Bruce Symes announced he would not run.

Councilman Jon Wells announced on Facebook that he plans to run for District No. 3 Precinct Committee as an independent. The filing deadline for independent candidates is August 5 at noon and they must submit a petition. Wells has submitted his petition, but the signatures are still being verified.

Wells teaches history and political science at Allen Community College. He was first appointed to the Council in June 2013 to represent Iola’s Ward 1, then was appointed unopposed in 2015. He served as mayor of Iola from 2018 to 2022. Wells successfully ran for the First Ward seat again in 2023 and began his final term in January. .

THE DEADLINE for election filings is Monday, June 3 at noon at the courthouse clerk’s office.

That is also the deadline for voters to change party affiliation.

All county offices will be up for election – attorney, clerk, register of deeds, treasurer, sheriff – along with two seats for county commissioners. Due to a vacancy, voters in the City of Moran will fill a council position in November.

The general election is on November 5.

Here is a list of candidates so far.


County Attorney: Brandon Cameron, Republican

District No. 2 Commissioner: David E. Lee, R (incumbent)

Register of Deeds: Misty D. Rice, R(i)

Treasurer: Darolyn Maley, R (i)

Sheriff: Anthony Maness, R, and Bryan J. Murphy, R (i)

Moran City Council position (November vote): Kris Smith

MUNICIPALITIES Each will also elect a trustee and a treasurer.

STATE AND FEDERAL Offices up for election representing Allen County include:

U.S. Representative, 2nd District: Jeff Kahrs, R, Topeka; Derek Schmidt, R, Independence; Matt Kleinmann, D, Kansas City

Related Post